- Free MOT Reminder service

What are the different MOT Vehicle Classes?

Vehicles that go on the road have to have an MOT proving road safety and environmental checks to make sure they are meeting the standards.

MOT Classes

All vehicles that are three years and older need to get an MOT every year on the MOT anniversary. The MOT test checks that the vehicle is safe and meets environmental standards. The most common vehicle type class is Class 4 which is generally most cars, taxis and smaller goods vehicles like vans.

The type of vehicles are broken down into 7 main categories depending on their different characterisics. These can be summarised below:

Class 1

Mopeds and motorbikes less than 200cc.

Class 2

Mopeds and motorbikes greater than 200cc.

Class 3

Three wheel vehicles up to 450kg.

Class 4

This makes up most MOTs in the UK as it covers most vehicles that are greater than 450Kg such as cars, taxis, quad bikes and smaller goods vehicles:

  • 3-wheeled vehicles (over 450kg unladen weight)
  • Cars (up to 8 passenger seats)
  • Motor caravans
  • Quads (max unladen weight 400kg – for goods vehicles and max net power of 15kb)
  • Dual purpose vehicles
  • Private hire and public service vehicles (up to 8 seats)
  • Ambulances and taxis
  • Private passenger vehicles and ambulances (9-12 passenger seats)
  • Goods vehicles (up to 3,000kg design gross weight)

Class 5

Private passenger vehicles with greater than 13 passenger seats such as buses and coaches.

Class 7

This is for larger goods vehicle such as lorries and trucks that are over 3,000Kg up to 3,500Kg gross weight.

See Also